Fox News are Asshats

Posted: January 10, 2011 in Excerpts

Fox News are Asshats

This is an opinion piece Fox News did involving a child in Michigan who brought a dagger to school as a religious symbol. Now, I do think the child shouldn’t be allowed to bring it to school because a dagger is classed as a weapon. But, the reason this is so infuriating is not the article itself but some of the comments on it. Some of which are as ignorant as “Sikhs are Muslims”. And some are as juvenile as “they smell”. But the worst is “They should go back to their own country”. You could say that to ANYONE in the USA. These people are disgusting. They’re the lowest of the low. And they make me ashamed to be American. These right wing elitist pricks have no business saying what America is or what it stands for.

Comments
  1. Don says:

    “Right wing elitist pricks” have as much “business” saying what America is, and what it stands for, as anybody else does. Of course, there are still 300 million other opinions about this subject, so such an opinion is worth only as much as it coincides with similar opinions. If the value of taking a dagger to school–to a Sikh family–is great enough, perhaps they should go back to India or wherever it is that their son can take a dagger to school, because it’s not going to get respect here. In America the idea is that they must make that decision.

    Otherwise, I accept your claim that typical comments are ignorant and juvenile. Sikhs are not Muslims, and I can’t smell a pig factory from here, much less a Sikh, and I have no idea how much they might bathe or wear deodorant, but I do agree with their right to choose how much to bathe as long as they consider the consequences.

    On the other hand, I think it would be advisable for foreigners to consider it necessary to mostly adapt to our culture if they want to come here. To a large degree, it’s rather naive to pretend that culture clashes aren’t common worldwide, and further pretend that they don’t commonly result in violence and harmful discrimination. Americans have never been immune from cultural chauvinism, and I don’t know why one should think that we are immune now. Such pretensions are just as ignorant as thinking that Sikhs are Muslims. Personally, I think all religions are bunk, and should be discarded–but not forgotten for what they are. I actively pursue this goal, although I recognize that Faux News and the right wing is no kinder to me than to Sikhs and Muslims. I have no other country to go home to, but if I were living in a relatively free and atheistic country, I would not come here. But since I was born here I am fighting the culture wars, because I think it’s a good and necessary fight. I urge Sikhs and Muslims and Christians and pagans alike to abandon their irrational beliefs and naturally regard themselves as primarily human beings and civilized animals on Planet Earth. Since Earth is in terrible trouble, we are in terrible trouble, and we need not use cultural differences to add to our troubles. dk

Leave a Reply

